About Bettina Castaño

Flamenco – classical – world music all of the highest standard.

Most flamenco dancers fascinate with their blinding technique, so pure and clean, as smooth as a diamond. Others with the intensity of their interpretation, expression, through the gift of using a traditional phrase, which the listener or spectator has heard thousands of times before, to say something new. Others impress with their willingness to take a risk – for example when they choose a bold Zapateado tempo, or create unusual, exciting timbres with the foot. Bettina Castaño does all of this and much more. For example, she experiments with world music - distancing herself a little from traditional flamenco - integrates these elements, finds her way back, and fascinates the flamenco world. She is one of the most amazing new generation flamenco dancers in Sevilla. Her seemingly inexhaustable wealth of coreographs and her huge dance repertoir motivate her to create a special type of performance

The conception, her wealth of ideas, and her arrangements appear so, that every programme constantly alternates instrumental performance and dance pieces.

In addition to her programme FLAMENCO PURO, with traditional flamenco instrumentation, she offers an intercultural performance with the excellent percussionist Hakim Ludin (Kabul) extraordinarily. The programmes FLAMENCO AND AFGHAN PERCUSSION and a sensational duo programme HANDS AND FEET where Bettina Castaño and Hakim Ludin present highly dynamic rhythms, never before been seen or heard, emerged from this.

For years, Bettina Castaño has performed the programme FLAMENCO & APPENZELL (Appenzell string music) where she once performed solely with the Alder Buebe and another time with the band and her flamenco group

FLAMENCO MEETS CIGAN is one of her most successful programmes, in which the flamenco artists withBettina Castaño, and the gypsy musicians JanBerky and his group from Bratislava play the programme "Diabolske Flamenco".

La Castaño created the duet programme ARGENTINA FLAMENCA with the argentinian guitar virtuoso Juan Gotán.

Castaño created a particularly special programme - PULSE OF INDIA - with the world's two best percussionists from Kerala (south India), Karuna Moorthy (Tavil) and Mattanur Sankarankutty.

Independantly of the above programmes, Bettina Castaño has developed 'classical programmes'. She dances 'El Armor Brujo' and 'Zarzuelas' with the Basel Symphony Orchestra, the Opera Orchestra of Cairo and the Badenwürttemberg Philharmonic from Reutlingen for example. 'Classical variants' includes the work with 'casal Quartett' and some of the most different soloists of the classical scene; Anamaria Kappus, Karel Beschoeten, Paul Giger and CELLEBERIA from the symphonie Orchestra of Seville. Also included are conductors like Miguel Roa and Thomas Herzog.

Castaño's wealth of ideas extends so far, that she has created the programme CELLO: FACOTRY MEETS Bettina Castaño - together with the famous celloist Thomas Demenga. In this programme, Bach, Brahms, Stravinsky, Ragtime, Charleston, Waltz and Tango Argentino are played, and Bettina Castaño dances to this music in flamenco style. (not to be forgotten are her coreographs to spanish classical music, chamber music and symphony orchestra. And it doesn't stop there – she created an extraordinary programme with Thomas Demenga: BACH AL COMPÁS – in which she dances flamenco style to the Bach Suites.

Bettina Castaño performs increasingly more frequently as a choreographer – for emaple for the famous TV show 'So you think you can dance'

Of course her 'core' musicians are involved; the excellent guitarrists Jesús Torres, Miguel Pérez, Rafael Rodriguez, José Manuel Tudela, El Espina and Mariano Campallo, as well as the singers Antonio Saavedra, Emilio Cabello and David Hornillo, and the Palmero Manuel Salgado. The top dancers Clarissa Wedding and Cristina Hall are also part of the main flamenco programme. Essential for Castaño is her artistic ability to feel music, and translate these feelings into dance. The daily cello practice which she has carried out since her teenage years has helped her greatly in this.

We are dealing with a serious dancer with an astounding musical intelleigence and an admirable ambitiousness. For many dancers, the name La Castaño signifies 'Vivacity and joy in dance', for a dance 'giant' with so much depth to her.

Bettina Castaño runs her international dance studio in the centre of Sevilla. She is a fantastic dance teacher, who impresses her students with her didactic ability and her own dance material. She regularly gives dance courses in Sevilla, Zürich, Bern, Vienna, Berlin, Hamburg, Mainz, New Delhi, Antwerp etc.

Various events in the past years (selecionl)

Soloshow at BIENAL DE ARTE FLAMENCO (Sevilla)
Guggenheimmuseum of Bilbao (organized by Diputación de Sevilla)
Lucerne Festival /Kuhmo Festival Finland
Yehudi Menuhin Festival Gstaad
Musikfestival Davos, Mosel Musikfestival                                                                     Teatro Solis Montevideo/Uruguay
Klassikfestival Boswil /Art Festival Seoul/Korea
Philharmonie in Bratislava /TATA Theatre Mumbai/India/ WIWA Festival Trivandrum India
Opernhaus Halle, Opere Caire/Egypt
Tonhalle St. Gallen, Casino Zug
Various flamencofestivals
New year concert with the Basler Sinfonieorchester
Tour with solists of the Teatro alla Scala at La Traviata
World exhibition at Sevilla 1992 as "spezial guest"
Bullfight Arena at Sevilla LA MAESTRANZA
Rheingau-Musikfestival
Kulturarena Jena/ Tamburi Mundi Festival Germany
Theaterkahn Dresden / CSIO Switzerland
Kulturufer Friedrichshafen
Muffathalle München
Mozartsaal Stuttgart
KKL in Luzern
Schlossfestspiele Ettingen, Auerbach, Heidelberg
Burg von Alicante
Jazzfestival Worms
Moods und Volkshaus in Zürich
Impulsfestival Bregenz
Zeltfestival Kassel, Tuttlingen, Karlsruhe, Offenburg
Alfonso XIII. Arabisches Stilhotel in Sevilla
Hotel Palace Montreux
Granhotel Maria Cristina in San Sebastián
Hotel Giardino in Ascona

"Sensing the music frees the dancing muse."

Bettina Castaño

Informationen über Bettina Castaño

Flamenco - Klassik - Worldmusic: auf höchstem Niveau
Manche Flamencotänzerinnen faszinieren durch eine blendende Technik, so lupenrein und sauber, geschliffen wie ein Diamant. Andere durch die Intensität ihrer Interpretation, Ausdruck, durch die Gabe mit einer traditionellen Phrase, die der Hörer bzw. Zuschauer schon tausendmal erlebt hat, etwas ganz Neues zu sagen. Wieder andere beeindrucken durch ihre Bereitschaft zum Risiko - etwa wenn sie ein tollkühnes Zapateado-Tempo wählen oder ungewöhnliche, aufregende Klangfarben mit den Füßen kreieren. Bettina Castaño tut all das und noch mehr. Sie experimentiert beispielsweise mit World-Music, entfernt sich teilweise vom traditionellen Flamenco, integriert diese Elemente und findet wieder zurück und hält mit dieser Art die Flamencowelt in Atem.

Heute zählt sie zu den außergewönlichsten und facettenreichsten Flamencotänzerin, in voller Blüte, mit reifem wunderschönen Körperausdruck. Hohe Begabung, Talent, Ideenreichtum und strenges. konzentriertes Arbeiten formten ihren Körper, ihre Bewegungen zu etwas Einzigartigem, Individuellen, was nicht kopiert werden kann.

Ihr scheinbar unerschöpflicher Reichtum an Choreographien, ihr riesiges Tanzrepertoir motivieren sie zu Flamencodarbietungen besonderer Art.

Die Konzeption, ihr Ideenreichtum und ihr Arrangement sehen so aus, daß sich die Programme stets in Abwechslung mit instrumentalen Darbietungen und Tanzstücken abwechseln.

Neben ihrem Programm FLAMENCO PURO, in traditioneller Flamencobesetzung, zeigt sie ihre interkulturellen Darbietungen mit dem hervorragenden Perkussionist Hakim Ludin (Kabul) und zwar Außergewöhnliches. Es entstanden daraus die Programme FLAMENCO UND AFGHANISCHE PERKUSSION sowie ein sensationelles Duo-Programm HANDS & FEET, wo Bettina Castaño und Hakim Ludin hochdynamische Rhythmen präsentieren, die das Ohr nie zuvor gehört, die Augen nie zuvor gesehen haben.

Seit Jahren zeigt Castaño das Programm FLAMENCO & APPENZELL (Appenzeller Streichmusik) wo sie einmal nur mit den Alder Buebe auftritt und das andere mal mit dieser Musikkapelle plus der Flamencogruppe.

Zu ihren erfolgreichsten Programm zählt FLAMENCO MEETS CIGAN, in dem die Flamencokünstler mit Bettina Castaño und der Zigeunergeiger Jan Berky  mit seinen Musikern aus Bratislava das Programm "Diabolske Flamenco" spielen.

Mit dem argentinischem Gitarrenvirutosen Juan Gotán kreiert La Castaño das Duo-Programm ARGENTINA FLAMENCA.

Ein ganz besonderes Programm kreiert Castaño mit den beiden weltbesten Perkussionisten aus Kerala (Südindien), Karuna Moorthy (Tavil) und Mattanur Sankarankutty: PULSE OF INDIA

Ganz unabhängig von den obigen Programmen entwickelt Bettina Castaño "klassische Programme". Sie tanzt beispielsweise mit dem Basler  Sinfonieorchester "El Armor Brujo" und "Zarzuelas", sowie mit dem Opernorchester aus Kairo oder der Badenwürttembergischen Philharmonie aus Reutlingen. Zu dieser klassisches Variante gehört auch die Arbeit mit dem "casal Quartett" und verschiedensten Solisten der klassischen Szene: Anamaria Kappus, Karel Beschoeten, Paul Giger und CELLIBERIA vom Sinfonieorchester Sevilla. Dazu gehören auch die Dirigenten wie Miguel Roa und Thomas Herzog.

Castaño´s Ideenreichtum geht soweit, daß sie zusammen mit dem berühmten Cellisten Thomas Demenga das Programm CELLO:FACTORY MEETS BETTINA CASTAÑO kreierte. Hier wird Bach, Brahms, Stravinsky aber auch Ragtime, Charleston, Waltz, Tango Argentino usw. gespielt und Castaño tanzt danach auf flamencoart (nicht zu vergessen ihre Choreographien nach spanisch-klassischer Musik für Kammermusik und Sinfonieorchester). Es blieb nicht nur dabei: Mit Thomas Demenga kreierte sie ein ganz außergewöhnliches Programm: BACH AL COMPÁS, indem Castaño nach den Bach-Suiten auf flamencoart tanzt.

Immer mehr tritt Bettina Castaño als Choreographin auf. Beispielsweise für die berühmte Fernsehshow SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE

Mit dabei sind ihre "Kern"-Musiker, die hervorragenden Gitarristen Jesús Torres, Miguel Pérez, Rafael Rodriguez, José Manuel Tudela, El Espina und Mariano Campallo, ebenso der Sänger Antonio Saavedra, Emilio Cabello und David Hornillo und der Palmero Manuel Salgado. Zum großen Flamencoprogramm gehören aber auch die beiden Top-Tänzerinnen Clarissa Wedding und Cristina Hall.

Für Castaño gehört ganz wesentlich ihr künstlerischer Anspruch dazu, Musik zu fühlen, sie in Tanz umzusetzen. Das tägliche Cellospiel seit ihrer Jugend war hier ihr Lehrmeister. Wir haben es mit einer ernsthaften Tänzerin von erstaunlicher musikalischer Intelligenz und bewundernswerter Zielstrebigkeit zu tun. Für viele Tänzer und Tänzerinnen steht der Name La Castaño für die "Lebendigkeit und Freude am Tanz", für ein "Bewegungsmonster" mit der Tiefe eines Brunnens.

Bettina Castaño ist eine sehr gute Tanzlehrerin, die mit didaktischem Können und eigenem Lehrmaterial ihre Schüler begeistert.

Verschiedene Auftritte der letzten Jahre (kleine Auswahl)

Soloauftritt im BIENAL DE ARTE FLAMENCO (Sevilla)
Guggenheimmuseum von Bilbao (Organisiert: Diputación de Sevilla)
Lucerne Festival
Yehudi Menuhin Festival Gstaad / Kuhmo Festival Finnland
Musikfestival Davos, Mosel Musikfestival Trier                                                            Teatro Solis Montevideo/Uruguay
Klassikfestival Boswil
Philharmonie in Bratislava, Oper Kairo
Opernhaus Halle,Tonhalle St. Gallen, Casino Zug/CH
viele Flamencofestivals wie: Bienal de arte flamenco Sevilla
Neujahrskonzert mit dem Basler Sinfonieorchester
Tour mit den Solisten der Mailänder Scala in La Traviata
Weltausstellung in Sevilla 1992 als „spezial guest"
Stierkampfarena in Sevilla LA MAESTRANZA
Rheingau-Musikfestival, Soorya Festival India /Art Festival Seoul/Korea
Kulturarena Jena / TATA Theater Mumbai/India
Theaterkahn Dresden / Tamburi Mundi Festival Germany
Kulturufer Friedrichshafen / WIWA Festival Trivandrum/India
Muffathalle München
Mozartsaal Stuttgart
KKL in Luzern - Finland: Savoy Theater
Schlossfestspiele Ettingen, Auerbach, Heidelberg
Burg von Alicante
Jazzfestival Worms
Moods und Volkshaus in Zürich
Impulsfestival Bregenz
Zeltfestival Kassel, Tuttlingen, Karlsruhe, Offenburg
Alfonso XIII. Arabisches Stilhotel in Sevilla
Hotel Palace Montreux
Granhotel Maria Cristina in San Sebastián
Hotel Giardino in Ascona - sowie Auftritte in Dubai, Kairo, Indien, Belgien, Holland, Österreich, Frankreich, Italien, Osteuropa, Finland und viele andere Orte.

„Musik muss gefühlt werden um sie in Tanz umzusetzen.“

Bettina Castaño