Comments on the training material

We have received a lot of praise and recognition for the work we invested in creating the DVDs and the Palmas training books. Here are just a few of the comments:

 

1. Hello

You brought with these DVDs a great thing on the market! Big compliment! Best regards

Eva Billich                                                                                                                      (Certified instructor of the  "The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning" originated from the work of Joseph H. Pilates.  Certified areas. Author of several Pilates books)

 

2. Dear Bettina

I have already had a look at the DVD. As a comparison: I bought a training video for sevillanas in Barcelona a couple of years ago. Despite the slow motion I was half dizzy from all the looking and turning….(back then without the disruptive children’s shrieks in the background) Yours is far superior!

These are the things I find great:

  • Appealing intro
  • The different tempi
  • Perspectives
  • Subtle counting and rhythm indication
  • The close-ups of the foot technique, clearly structured and marked, so that one can repeatedly practice specific sections without the annoying searching and missing the cue.
  • Music notation for rhythm overview

A big congratulations to you and Espina!

G. Zora (Switzerland)

 

3. Hello Espina,

Man, the work you must have put in! The Marcajes der Solea por Bulerias is no walk in the park, but you carried it off fantastically! Now it’s down to practicing – with enjoyment, with this DVD you can really make progress.

Greetings from Bochum,

Wolfgang (Germany)

 

4. Dear Bettina and Espina,

I never thought I would be able to do the Taranto. Just too difficult, too complicated. And now a light has appeared on the horizon, if I may be so poetic, which can’t be wrong in Flamenco. I can also say, the first ‘ah’ moment is on the horizon. Really well explained and demonstrated, clear enough, slow enough – no one in a flamenco studio has ever been able to get it across to me so well. Many thanks for the great DVD!!!

Warm regards,

K. Steiger (Switzerland)

 

5. Dear Bettina,

Where were these Palmas training books all my life? Why have I only found out about them now? They are a hit!!! So many mind blowing rhythms, crazy…

Greetings, Freddy (Germany)

 

6. Dear Ms Castano and Mr Espina,

I have carefully studied your Palmas books and I would like to voice my approval. As a fellow colleague who also produces training material, I know how to value what an immense amount of work was involved in putting together your materials. The distinction you have achieved here is remarkable. Respect!

Best regards,

Dr. Alfred Wesselbach (Germany)

 

7. Dear Bettina,

I watched your DVDs with enthusiasm and I am currently focussing on the Tango de Malaga. Your DVDs are optimal for self-teaching. Congratulations on this.

Warm regards,

B. Schupp (Switzerland)

 

8. Hello you two,

I am so taken with your DVDs that I had to write to you. Espina must have invested a huge amount of time to have so patiently produced such a fantastic training video, second for second. I cut films myself. You both contribute so much to flamenco. The learning of the dance and the rhythm is made light and comprehensible. The idea of documenting the whole zapateado in notes is genius. I can well imagine that generations to come will be very greatful to be able to watch such good training videos.

Very warm regards,

Lara Müller-Gerach (Austria)

 

9. DVD praise

This training DVD from Espina is the best I have ever received – many thanks for this! Everything is spot on,  everything that a dancer in the learning process needs is here: There is rhythm indication, and there is counting, which is extremely important and helpful! The counting is in no way intrusive. You can work with different tempi and practice, which is great. The camera angle is such that you can watch, dance and not loose orientation. The DVD is extremely well structured, which is particularly good for the concentration as you don’t have to search through the DVD and can repeat and practice steps despite this. The show-stopper is that there is even a music notation with this DVD, so you can learn something about the rhythm parallel with the foot technique right from the beginning. This DVD communicates on all the different levels necessary to learn – couldn’t be better!

Thanks a lot for your generous work Bettina and Espina. You motivate me everyday anew!

Best regards,

K. Oberdorff (Austria)

 

10. Hola Bettina,

I recieved your DVD a couple of days ago and I am really taken with it. The fact that it is now possible to write dances, or zapateados in the form of notes is really unique. This idea will be carried on over decades. On one hand it is amazing that such a training DVD has never been available through a publishers or music supplies shop. On the other hand it seems to be the case with many innovations which first become known along other paths. The comprehensibility and clear structure of your DVD which makes learning the ‘not-so-easy-to-learn zapadeados’ easy, is without a doubt, second to none.

I really cannot think of any other DVD which is more suitable for self-learning!

Many, many thanks.

M. Larisson (from Sweden)

 

11.

Finally, a training DVD which can be used by dancers of all ages! Here, everyone can work at their own tempo, and gets the rhythm, including the music notation, so well brought across that you could assume Espina was born to be a zapateados teacher. My mother, who is very critical and who watched the DVD sceptically at first , cannot be separated from the DVD player or the dance floor now, and has not yet voiced any criticism at all. Even if I hadn’t found the DVD so fantastic, I would know now at the latest that this DVD must be perfect.

Greetings,

E. Hammerschmidt (Germany)

"Sensing the music frees the dancing muse."

Bettina Castaño

Stimmen zum Lehrmaterial

Wir haben sehr viel Lob und Anerkennung für die Arbeit, die wir mit den DVDs und den Palmas-Schulheften hatten, bekommen. Hier eine kleine Auswahl:

 

1. Hallo,

Ihr habt mit diesen DVDs was Tolles auf den Markt gebracht! Grosses Kompliment! Herzliche Grüsse

Eva Billich (Diplomierte Trainerin für »Pilates Method of Body Conditioning« nach der Originalmethode von Joseph Hubertus Pilates. Autorin von Pilates Fachbüchern.
Zertifizierte Übungsbereiche)

 

2. Liebe Bettina

Ich habe bereits in das DVD reingeschaut. Zum Vergleich: Habe vor ein paar Jahren mal in Barcelona ein Lernvideo für Sevillanas gekauft. Vor lauter Schauen und Drehen wurde mir trotz slow motion halb schwindelig... (Damals noch ohne störendes Kinderprogramm im Hintergrund...) Deines ist um Welten besser!

Was ich alles super finde:

° Ansprechendes Intro
° Die verschiedenen Tempi
° Perspektive
° dezentes Zählen und Taktangabe
° Die Grossaufnahme der ganzen Fusstechnik, klar strukturiert und bezeichnet, sodass man gezielt einzelne Abschnitte, ohne lästiges Spulen und Einsatz verpassen, wiederholt üben kann.
° Notenbild für den Rhythmusüberblick

Mein Kompliment an Espina und Dich!

G. Zora (CH)

 

3. Hallo Espina,

mann, wat musst du malocht haben! Die Marcajes der Solea por Bulerias ist ja jetzt kein Pappenstil! Aber spitze hingekriegt! Jetzt wird geübt - mit Spass, weil man mit der DVD echt mal Fortschritte macht. 

Gruß aus Bochum von Wolfgang (D)

 

4. Liebe Bettina und Espina,

ich dachte immer, den Taranto kriege ich nie hin. Einfach zu schwierig, zu kompliziert. Jetzt taucht zum ersten Mal Licht am Horizont auf, wenn ich's mal so etwas poetisch formulieren darf, was ja im Flamenco nicht verkehrt ist. Ich könnte auch sagen: erster Durchblick bahnt sich an. Einfach voll cool erklärt und gezeigt, klar genug, langsam genug - so gut hat's mir noch nicht mal jemand in einem Flamencostudio rüberbringen können. Vielen Dank für die tolle DVD!!!

Herzliche Grüße

K. Steiger (CH)


5. Liebe Bettina,

wo waren diese Palmas-Schulhefte die ganze Zeit? Warum erfahre ich erst jetzt davon? Die sind der Hammer!!! So irre viele, geile Rhythmen, der Wahnsinn...

Gruß Freddy (D)


6. Sehr verehrte Frau Castano, geehrter Herr Espina,

ich habe Ihre Palmas-Hefte aufmerksam studiert und möchte Ihnen mein Kompliment aussprechen. Als Kollege, der selbst Lehrmittel herstellt, vermag ich wohl noch eher als manch anderer Käufer einzuschätzen, welch immense Arbeit in Ihrem Werk steckt. Die Differenzierung, die Sie hier geleistet haben, ist bemerkenswert. Respekt!

Mit freundlichem Gruß

Dr. Alfred Wesselbach (D)

 

7. Liebe Bettina,

mit Begeisterung habe ich mir Deine DVD's angesehen und bin gerade dabei, mich mit dem Tango de Malaga näher zu befassen. Deine DVD's sind für das Selbststudium geradezu optimal. Dazu meinen Glückwunsch.

Liebe Grüße
B. Schupp (CH)

 

8. Hallo Ihr beiden,

Ich bin dermaßen begeistert von Deinen DVDs, dass ich Dir das auch gerne mal schreiben möchte. Espina muß ja eine Unmenge von Zeit investiert haben, um Sekunde für Sekunde so geduldig ein so schönes Lernvideo herzustellen. Ich schneide nämlich selbst Filme. Ich finde: Ihr beide tragt wirklich viel zum Flamenco bei. Das Erlernen des Tanzes, des Rhythmus wird leicht und verständlich gemacht. Die Idee, den ganzen Zapateado auch noch in Noten festzuhalten, ist wirklich genial. Ich kann mir gut vorstellen, daß Generationen nach Euch sich freuen werden, solche guten Lernvideos einsehen zu können.

Es grüßt Euch herzlichst

Lara Müller-Gerach (A)

 

9. DVD-Lob

Diese Lern-DVD von Espina ist die beste, die ich je erhalten habe – vielen Dank dafür! Hier stimmt einfach alles, denn es ist alles da, was eine lernende Tänzerin benötigt: Es gibt Taktangaben und es wird gezählt, was sehr wichtig und hilfreich ist! Das Zählen ist jedoch nicht aufdringlich. Man kann mit verschiedenen Tempi arbeiten und üben, was einfach super ist. Der Kamerablickwinkel ist so gewählt, dass man schauen und nachtanzen kann und dabei perfekt orientiert ist. Besonders toll für die Konzentration ist es, wie gut die DVD strukturiert ist, denn man muss nicht vorspulen oder zurückspulen und kann trotzdem mit Wiederholungen üben. Der Clou ist, dass es bei dieser DVD auch noch ein Notenbild gibt. So lernt man von Anfang an etwas über den Rhythmus parallel mit der Fußtechnik. Es werden mit dieser DVD alle Ebenen angesprochen, auf die es beim Lernen ankommt – besser geht’s nicht!

Vielen Dank für Eure großartige Arbeit, Bettina und Espina. Sie motiviert mich jeden Tag aufs Neue.

Herzliche Grüße

K. Oberdorff (A)

 

10. Hola Bettina,

ich habe vor ein paar Tagen deine DVD erhalten und bin schwer davon angetan. Dass es jetzt zum ersten Mal möglich ist, Tänze bzw. Zapateados in Form von Noten aufzuschreiben, ist wirklich einzigartig. Diese Idee wird über viele Jahrzehnte tragen. Einerseits ist es erstaunlich, dass eine solche Art von Lern-DVD nie über einen Verlag oder einen Musikalienhandel erhältlich war. Andererseits geht es wohl vielen Innovationen so, dass sie erst auf anderem Wege bekannt werden. Die Verständlichkeit und klare Struktur deiner DVD, die das Lernen der gar nicht so leichten Zapateados dennoch leicht macht, ist jedenfalls unübertroffen.

Ich kenne wirklich keine DVD, die fürs Selbststudium besser geeignet wäre!

Vielen, vielen Dank.

M. Larisson (aus Schweden)

 

11.

Endlich eine Lern-DVD, mit der Tänzerinnen in jedem Alter arbeiten können! Weil hier jeder nach seinem Tempo arbeiten kann und den Rhythmus inklusive Notenbild so gut aufbereitet bekommt, dass man meinen könnte, Espina wäre als Zapateado-Lehrer auf die Welt gekommen. Meine Mutter, die gerne viel herumkritisiert und die DVD zuerst misstrauisch beäugte, ist jetzt vom DVD-Player und vom Tanzbrett gar nicht mehr wegzubekommen und hat noch keinen kritischen Ton von sich gegeben. Wenn ich die DVD nicht selbst so super finden würde, wüsste ich spätestens deshalb, dass die DVD perfekt ist.

Seid gegrüsst

E. Hammerschmidt (D)